The Heikkilä farmhouse first opened as a museum in 1959, when the township purchased the property.
The same family lived on Heikkilä farm and tended the land from the early 16th century all the way to the early 1920s. The estate originally included much of the centre of Kerava, the Sampola neighbourhood and parts of Kaleva.
Of the original buildings, only the farmhouse itself, the dayworker’s cottage, the farmhands’ quarters and the granary remain. The other buildings originate in other parts of Kerava and nearby areas and were brought to the property later.
The City of Kerava purchased the land and the buildings in 1955. When the museum opened, responsibility for coordinating the operation and the collection of artefacts showcasing life on the farmstead was given to the local heritage association Kerava-Seura. The City of Kerava took over running the museum in 1986.
Today, Heikkilä Local History Museum is run by Kerava Museum Services.